Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Hugo Nominations

LoneStarCon 3, this year's World Science Fiction Convention, has opened Hugo nominations for 2012.

The nominating ballot can be found here:


You do need to be a member to nominate. A member (attending or supporting) of LoneStarCon, this year's worldcon, or Chicon 8, the 2012 worldcon in Chicago, OR LonCon, the 2014 worldcon in London. Any one of the three will do.
All works first published or broadcast in 2012 are eligible.

The Hugo is the oldest award in our genre, the most prestigious, and the most important. It is a fan award. No juries. The readers choose the finalists, and the readers pick the winners. There will be five (sometimes six, in the event of a tie) nominees in each category.

I've said it before and I will say it again here: nominations are the most important part of the Hugo process. Hundreds of people cast Hugo ballots, but far fewer ever bother to nominate. You cannot win unless you are on the ballot, and sometimes the difference between being a finalist and an also-ran is a single nomination. Yes, even in the big categories, like Best Novel (last year one single vote was the difference between a novel that made the ballot and one that did not) and Best Dramatic Presentation. And in the less popular categories, hell, people have been known to make the Hugo ballot with twenty votes.

So NOMINATE. You have until March 10.


As to what you should nominate... well, that's your choice, of course. Right now, all over Ye Olde InterWeb, people are making their recommendations and writers are reminding the world about their own eligible works. I'll do the same, as I have in past years. But not in this post. Watch this space for my own favorites.


Feb. 12th, 2013 03:29 pm (UTC)
Nominate a Memory of Light
A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
Harriet Rigney for Best Editor.

George was friends with Robert Jordan so I think its ok to post this here. He credits RJ's quote on Game of Thrones with getting the series started.

When RJ died, George wrote a blog entry and said that The Eye of the World changed the fantasy genre. None of these books have won a major award and yet 44 million have been sold in North America alone (this does not include A Memory of Light).

Yes I know the series bogged down for a while, but I think Memory of Light should be nominated based on the entire series. This is the deepest and most complex fantasy I have ever read.

Harriet Rigney has never won an award for Best Editor. She edited several bestselling fantasy authors other than Robert Jordan. She edited Enders Game. She was pivotal in getting this series finished after Robert Jordan died.

Hope it is ok to post this George.
Feb. 14th, 2013 10:44 am (UTC)
Re: Nominate a Memory of Light
Bravo guessingo. At least seven books of Wheel of time series are outstanding and unsurpassed in its greatness in the fantasy series world. At least in my humble understanding. The other 7 books in this great epos are also quite readable although some said that there is a lot of filler in there. But nowadays it is not hard to meet angry fans and ex-fans disappointed by waiting or any other ‘justified’ selfish reason… One can never suit everybody. It is known.


George R.R. Martin
George R. R. Martin

Latest Month

June 2017


Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Lilia Ahner