?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Reading

I used to have a page called "What I'm Reading" on my old website. It's still there on this new(er) website, actually, but I haven't updated it in years. Keep meaning to, but there's too much to do, too few hours in the day.

That doesn't mean I am not reading, however. I read all the time. Usually a chapter or two right before I go to sleep... but sometimes a novel takes hold of me, and I wind up gulping down the whole thing in a night. A long, sleepless night. But I love that when it happens.

Anyway, just thought I'd mention a few of the books I've read recently.

I've already commented, at some length, about two of this year's Hugo finalists, THREE-BODY PROBLEM and THE GOBLIN EMPEROR. You can find my thoughts on those below.

I also read LINES OF DEPARTURE by Marko Kloos. This was part of the Hugo ballot as originally announced, one of the books put there by the slates... but Kloos, in an act of singular courage and integrity, withdrew. It was his withdrawal that moved THREE-BODY PROBLEM onto the ballot. This is the second book in a series, and I've never read the first. Truth be told, I'd never read anything by Kloos before, but I'm glad I read this. It's military SF, solidly in the tradition of STARSHIP TROOPERS and THE FOREVER WAR. No, it's not nearly as good as either of those, but it still hands head and shoulders above most of what passes for military SF today. The enigmatic (and gigantic) alien enemies here are intriguing, but aside from them there's not a lot of originality here; the similarity to THE FOREVER WAR and its three act structure is striking, but the battle scenes are vivid, and the center section, where the hero returns to Earth and visits his mother, is moving and effective. I have other criticisms, but this is not a formal review, and I don't have the time or energy to expand on them at this point. Bottom line, this is a good book, but not a great one. It's way better than most of what the Puppies have put on the Hugo ballot in the other categories, but it's not nearly as ambitious or original as THREE-BODY PROBLEM. Even so, I read this with pleasure, and I will definitely read the next one. Kloos is talented young writer, and I suspect that his best work is ahead of him. He is also a man of principle. I hope he comes to worldcon; I'd like to meet him.

I also read the new novel by Lauren Beukes, BROKEN MONSTERS, a sort of crime/ serial killer novel with some supernatural Lovecraftian touches. Set amidst the urban decay of contemporary Detroit, this one has a vivid sense of place and a colorful and interesting cast of characters, but it gets very strange at the end, where the Lovecraftian elements come to the fore. I don't think it is entirely successful, and it's certainly several notches below the author's last, the brilliant SHINING GIRLS (which would have been my choice for last year's Hugo, but, alas, it missed the ballot by a handful of votes). I found it an engrossing read all the same, and I will be looking forward to whatever Lauren Beukes does next. She's a major major talent.

I also read and enjoyed the new Naomi Novik, UPROOTED. Novik is best known for her popular series of Napoleonic Era dragon books, so this high fantasy is somewhat a departure for her. The whole set-up has a 'fairy tale' feel to it, but draws its inspiration from Russian folklore rather than the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen strains more familiar to modern readers. I thought Novik did a nice job of ringing changes on the old fairy tale tropes, and I liked her characters. But the story rushed by a bit too fast for my taste; I would have liked a longer book, where the characters might have had a bit more room to breathe. And I was seriously disappointed by the ending, wherein several important revelations came out of nowhere.

Next up? Not sure. CITY OF STAIRS and ANCILLARY SWORD and SKIN GAME are all on the stack besides my bed, along with an ARC of the new Ernie Cline novel (yay!). But the new Stephen King has just turned up as well, so...

Comments

grrm
Jun. 8th, 2015 12:10 am (UTC)
Doing a lot of binge watching. Just finished OUTLANDER. Just starting the second season of ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK. Looking forward eagerly to the return of TRUE DETECTIVE... though they will have a hell of a time equalling season one.
milkforfree
Jun. 8th, 2015 12:27 am (UTC)
True Detective is the best choice. It was nice to be able to binge-watch the first season; watching this season week by week will be hard to bear. I think there's an unfilled market for a short-run horror series with Lovecraftian elements. Modeled maybe on Stephen King's short story "Crouch End," which IMO is a better Lovecraft story than anything Lovecraft wrote.
redfield79
Jun. 8th, 2015 01:48 am (UTC)

True detective!! Amazing! So painful but real. I can't wait for season two. I love when comedy actors take serious roles.

insurrbution
Jun. 8th, 2015 02:52 am (UTC)
A suggestion - I think you'd love Vikings if you haven't checked it out yet. It's not on TV at the moment - season 3 just finished recently, and 4 is a go.
gman109
Jun. 8th, 2015 06:05 pm (UTC)
That was a great review...preview...recommendation, whatever you want to call it regarding the Kloos submission for the Hugos. I too regard him as a man of principle, but wasn't really interested in reading his work until I just read what George had to say about it, particularly the comments about the vivid battle scenes.

I hope he goes to a convention and meets George, and especially hope you give him some good criticism and advice if and when that happens - the drift I got from reading this blurb was that while enjoying his recent efforts, George feels there is advice he could give to help out with the next project.


I've just watched Outlander in whole myself recently, once the final EP was out for this season, I watched them all in sequence. I've been a huge fan of Ronald Moore since Deep Space 9, and he's working with Ira S Behr from that great, under appreciated series on Outlander now as well. Fantastic mix of Scottish history and fantasy/sci fi, I'll have to give the books a read now I suppose.
OberynMattell
Jun. 9th, 2015 05:14 pm (UTC)
Will have to check out Outlander. I think Pizzolatto is going to be exposed a bit more in True Detective 2 without the two true stars of season 1: Cary Fukunaga and Matthew McConaughey. Thought his writing was overrated though I was pleasantly surprised with the ending. I'm really looking forward to Westworld whenever that comes out.

Profile

Spain
grrm
George R.R. Martin
George R. R. Martin

Latest Month

April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Tags

Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Lilia Ahner